Business helps to redraw map

Date published: 18 December 2012

OLDHAM moves into a new era in 2013 with the fantastic work being done in the borough to put “Oldham on the Map”.

And at the heart of the efforts to promote the town and the borough to a wider audience are four “showcase” events that go a long way to highlighting the best Oldham has to offer.

A steering group of council members and private business people is hoping to build the “Oldham on Map” community fund to enable the delivery of Pride in Oldham, The Sports Awards, The Business Awards and The Mayor’s Charity Ball.

Already there have been big successes: incoming company NOV Mono has agreed to become a major sponsor on its move from Ashton to the former BAE Systems site on Broadway, Chadderton.

First Choice Home Oldham, staunch supporters of many charitable local causes, has also put money into Oldham on the Map.

“It is important that Oldham continues to tell everyone what it has to offer,” said FCHO chief executive Cath Green.

Chronicle Editor David Whaley said: “This whole journey started back in 2002 when we had the first Pride in Oldham awards.

“Without the support of local firms this would never have happened, and since then the model has rolled out to provide both the business and the sporting world with truly wonderful events.

“Anyone who was at the Oldham Sports Awards prior to the Olympics could not have failed but be inspired and it proved to be the perfect appetiser for what was to come in London a few weeks later.

“Now Oldham business and Oldham Council is forging a real partnership that can make sure we deliver quality events and more investment in our borough.”

Now do YOUR bit and vote for this year’s Pride in Oldham reads’ choice winner. Click the “eChron” tab above and see all the nominees in our free-to-read special supplement. Look for the page with the headline “Business helps to redraw map”

To vote, email with the name and number (see below), or the person you are voting for. The top three nominees after votes close at midnight on January 6 will be invited to the gala event. The winner of a draw among voters for the top scoring nominee will also receive two tickets to the gala dinner.


1. Lee Carter

2. Anita Claxton

3. Allyson Richardson-Smethurst

4. Paul and Harley Hesford

5. Dane Marley and Joanne Shearer

6. Elizabeth Bowker

7. Elin Franklin

8. Melissa Faulkner

9. Georgia Sutton-Cross

10. Jack Smyth, Goerge Mellors, James O’Brien and Jack Mayberry-Bamforth.

11. Alice Travis

12. Bridging The Gap

13: Bernadette Deakin

14. Moinul Islam

15: Angela Kirkham

16: Helen Rowlands

17: Joanne Kelly, Sarah Byatt and Melanie Cunningham

18: Michelle Flint

19: Barbara Grice

20: Muhammed Iaq

21: Lee Marsland

22: Gwen Postlethwaite

23: Hilary Smith

24: Bob Sopel

25: Myra Wyers

26. Sharon Bannatyne

27: British Lung Foundation Oldham

28: Dryclough Manor

29: Stoneswood

30: Michelle Mayberry and Linda Mayor

31: Agora Theatre Group

32: Oldham Foodbank

33: People’s Carnival Committee

34: Shaw Playhouse 2

35: Team Greaves

36: Anna’s Dance

37: Fl Lieut Mark Hamilton

38: Wayne Hurst

39: Mark Llewelin

40: Jackie Mayers

41: Brian Minihan

42: David Flint

43: Paul Hughes

44: Angela Kenny

45: Joan Kennedy

46: Frillys

47: Oldham Coliseum