Labour remain in control of Oldham Council

Reporter: Jon Chubb
Date published: 03 May 2019

Labour have kept control of Oldham Council following last nights (Thursday 2nd May) local elections but they did lose a seat.

With the results now in it can be confirmed the party will return 45 councillors to the chamber, claiming 15 wins from the 20 seats which were up for grabs during this year’s elections.

In Failsworth East, Independent candidate Brian Hobin claimed the win from Labour, capturing 1,347 votes, over 500 more than his Labour rival.

In the Coldhurst ward, there was defeat for the Independent candidate, Montaz Ali Azad, who lost his seat to Labour’s Ruji Sapna Surjan by a majority of 331 votes.

Labour also gained in Medlock Vale and Saddleworth North with the Conservatives holding onto Saddleworth South.

Elsewhere the Liberal Democrats have won the Saddleworth West and Lees Ward and held onto the Shaw seat along with the Crompton Ward.

All the other seats including Chadderton South, St. James, Royton South, Hollinwood, Chadderton North, Alexandra, Chadderton Central, Failsworth West, Werneth, St. Mary’s, Royton North and Waterhead were all held by Labour.

Overall the turnout was 32.95% across the town.


Do you have a story for us? Want to tell us about something going on in and around Oldham? Let us know by emailing , calling our Oldham-based newsroom on 0161 633 2121 , tweeting us @oldhamchronicle or messaging us through our Facebook page. All contact will be treated in confidence.